The Piano Files

download this album for € 5
or... BECOME SUPPORTER for € 7,50
en receive this album plús The Flood, Requiem


“The Dutch composer Douwe Eisenga presents on The Piano Files a selection of his work for one, two and even four pianos. Eisenga is a real eclecticus and does with every style what he wants. The musical history is his hunting area. The Piano Files reflects Eisenga’s affinity with Minimal Music. Discovering Eisenga by means of his piano compositions is a must”.


format : download (info)
playing time : 57'
also available as cd & booklet


Jeroen van Veen, Sandra van Veen en Marcel Worms, piano


Cloud Atlas is written in 2008 for the production Cloud Atlas - together with pieces from five other composers – inspired by the novel of David Mitchell, who wrote about this piece: “Eisenga’s composition is beautiful, It is joyous, transcendent, and makes me homesick for a place I’ve never been”. 

Les Chants Estivaux (The Summer Songs) is a quadraphonic composition for four pianos. During the Dutch premiere in 2009 the audience could walk around in a special installation, build by O+A Architects. The special character of the piece fits perfect to a setting that was common tot the Minimal Music Performances in the 1980s. Les Chants Estivaux is music for everlasting summers.

Theme I is one of the earliest pieces Douwe Eisenga wrote. The music is exemplary for all his later work: steady repeated patterns, combined with lyrical melodies.

City Lines was written in 2006 and was composed and inspired by hearing Tubular Bells again after may years and Simeon ten Holt’s Horizon. “The result was this enchanting music, based on a Dutch Folk Tune, evolving into a lovely, pianistic written piece of music”.

Growing Worm was written for the new-blues-project from Dutch pianist Marcel Worms. To be honest, the music contains no blues at all.

  • 01. Cloud Atlas (pianoversion)
  • 02. Les Chants Estivaux
  • 03. Theme I
  • 04. City Lines (new recording)
  • 05. Growing Worm
  • Eisenga is a real eclecticus and does with each style what he wants: the music history is his hunting area. His music is very accessible and of a generosity that has no borders.
    Klassieke Zaken / Jurjen Vis
  • Eisenga has matured into a composer who feels most comfortable and elaborates on the Dutch equivalent of the "minimal music " introduced by Simeon ten Holt during the seventies, to which he has remained loyal ever since. For Eisenga this has yielded compositions that are both pleasing to the ears and easy to digest. They manage to captivate the listener by their unexpected influences of other elements from the history of music and a greatly varied language of tone, remaining within the limits of minimalism.
    Luister / Paul Janssen
  • City Lines - with a nod to Simeon ten Holt – gets a sparkling interpretation by Jeroen en Sandra van Veen. Enchanting and inspiring is the extraverted Les Chants Estivaux for four pianos (Jeroen van Veen plays all parties), the summer is not to stop. Good vitamin for a long and severe winter. In Cloud Atlas (the piano version of the work for sextet) we hear the introspective side. The music describes a place that nobody has seen, even the author of Cloud Atlas hasn’t. Discovering Eisenga through his works for piano is a must.
    Platomania / Wil Zenhorst
  • "Though The Piano Files is strong from start to finish, the most striking setting is “Les Chants Estivaux” (The Summer Songs). Scored for four pianos (all played by Jeroen van Veen), the quadraphonic composition advances with insistent determination as it traverses multiple peaks and valleys over the course of its long journey. The material chimes incandescently as its interlocking patterns escalate in volume and intensity, and the piece grows ever more hypnotic as piano layers are added. As fine as they are, the other pieces can't help but be overshadowed by a piece so towering and the pianist's bravura performance of it".
    Ron Schepper - Textura
€ 5,00buy download