Show subcategories

The Ballad of the Salt Water

  • Year: 2017
  • Length: 17'
  • Parts: 3 mixed choirs, organ
  • Commissioned by: Art Council Groningen

A spatial composition for three choirs and organ, inspired by Lorca's texts.

Kick out the Muse

  • Year: 2009
  • Length: 15'
  • Parts: mixed choir, 2 fl (1 also picc), 2 ob, 2 cl in bes, 2 bsn, 4 hr in f, 2 trp in c, 2 tbn, 1 btbn, 1 perc, strings,
  • Commissioned by: Koninklijke Oratorium Vereniging Middelburg
  • Preview: Click to download

Rhythmic fireworks around texts from a speech by the writer Federico Garcia Lorca, proposed in 1934 in Havana and Beunos Aires. The text of Kick Out the Muse! consists of separate realigned sentences from this speech. Kick out the Muse ! wants to express that music making and listening is an extremely physical primal experience. You don't make music with inspiration or workmanship. You make music with goosebumps. Music triggers your reptilian brain, the deepest recesses of your blood. Music with the smell of baby spit, with the feel of crushed grass and the sound of rushing blood. Sing with the wind through the empty arches.

Voordat ik zag (Before I saw)

  • Year: 2009
  • Length: 17'
  • Parts: SATB, 2 fl (1 also picc), 2 ob, 2 cl in bes, 2 bsn, hrp or pf, string quartet, strings
  • Commissioned by: USKO
  • Preview: Click to download

Voordat ik Zag (Before I Saw) was commissioned by the USKO (the Utrecht Students Choir & Orchestra). The lyrics are by the Dutch performer/singer/poet Herman van Veen, who wrote : "I thought it was wonderful. Serene and clear as water from the tap. All those young people, who together, led by the inspiring Gilles Michels on Douwe Eisenga's post-minimal sounds, succeeded to touch me deeply".

The Flood, Requiem

  • Year: 2003
  • Length: 70'
  • Parts: 2 fl (fl 1also picc), 2 ob, 2 cl in bes, 2 bsn, 4 hr in f, 2 trp in c, 2 tbn, b.tbn, tba, hrp, ac. guitar, pf, 5 perc, timp, strings, SATB, altsolo
  • Commissioned by: Zeeland Nazomer Festival
  • Preview: Click to download

The Flood, Requiem is a composition for choir, alt solo and orchestra, written in memory of the victims of the flood in the Netherlands in 1953. The piece lasts about 70 minutes and consists of nine parts. The lyrics are by Christopher Levenson, Vasily Zhukovsky, F. Hieronymi Savonarolae, Thomas of Celano and excerpts from the requiem mass. After 7 performances in the Netherlands in 2003, followed in 2012 a new implementation in Romania by the Moldova State Philharmonic led by Marcel Verhoeff. 

Een Naam voor de Stilte (A Name for the Silence)

  • Year: 1994
  • Length: 20'
  • Parts: SATB, voice, perc ensemble (6 players)
  • Preview: Click to download

This piece for choir and percussion ensemble is actually misplaced in this section. The text of A Name for the Silence is a selection from the poem Unidentified of Tahar Ben Jelloun, from his collection The Rising of the Ashes. The translation is by Ernst van Altena. This collection commemorates the thousands of anonymous victims of the war in the Middle East. Originally written during my studies, later - in 2005 - also performed by the Brabant Chamber Choir led by Fokko Oldenhuis.